CFC Alumni Among Top Winners at 2022 Canadian Screen Awards

Posted: Apr 11, 2022

That’s a wrap on Canadian Screen Week 2022! This year’s awards ceremonies showcased and celebrated Canada’s vast and abundant creative talent, many of whom we are proud to call CFC alumni.

CFC alumni were well represented at this year’s awards, earning a total of 26 awards, and having worked on and contributed to the films and series that led the film and television honours this year. Notably Scarborough, from co-director Rich Williamson, which earned a total of eight CSAs, including Best Motion Picture, Achievement in Direction, and the John Dunning Best First Feature Film Award; and celebrated medical drama series Transplant, created by alumnus Joseph Kay, which led television honours, also taking home eight awards, including Best Drama Series, and Best Writing, Drama Series.

Alumni earned honours across all categories and disciplines, from editing, to music, acting and more, illustrating their reach, impact and numerous contributions to Canada’s screen industry. Congratulations to all of this year’s nominees and winners – thank you for bringing your passion, talent and stories to our screens.

Here’s the full list of CFC alumni who took home 2022 CSA awards:

A collage of four film stills; 1 - a side profile of a man; 2 - three kids laying on at the floor; 3 - a side profile of a woman standing on a balcony; 4 - two people walking on the road in opposite directions

(L-R, top to bottom) Learn to Swim, Scarborough, Night Raiders, Kímmapiiyipitssini: The Meaning of Empathy


Achievement in Casting
  • Rich Williamson – Scarborough

Achievement in Direction
  • Rich Williamson – Scarborough

Achievement in Editing
  • Orlee Buium – All My Puny Sorrows

Achievement in Music – Original Song
  • Tika Simone, Casey Manierka-Quaile – Learn to Swim, “And Then We Don’t”

Original Screenplay
  • Danis Goulet – Night Raiders
Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role
  • Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers – Night Raiders (Open Immersion Participant)
Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary
  • Kímmapiiyipitssini: The Meaning of Empathy – Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers, Lori Lozinski

Best Editing in a Feature Length Documentary
  • Ben Lawrence – My Tree
Best Short Documentary
  • Nalujuk Night – Kat Baulu
John Dunning Best First Feature Film Award
  • Rich Williamson – Scarborough

A collage of four images: 1 - a medical team posing; 2 - a side profile of a woman smiling; 3 - a family posing outside of a convenience store

Transplant, Sort Of, Kim’s Convenience


Best Drama Series
  • Transplant – Joseph Kay, Virginia Rankin, Adam Barken
Best Comedy Series
  • Sort Of – Jennifer Kawaja
Best Reality/Competition Program or Series
  • Canada’s Drag Race – Betty Orr, Michael Kot


Best Direction, TV Movie
  • I Was Lorena Bobbitt – Danishka Esterhazy
Best Writing, Drama Series
  • Transplant, “Free For What”Joseph Kay
Best Picture Editing, Reality/Competition
  • Canada’s Drag Race, “The Snatch Game” – Baun Mah
Best Original Music, Non-Fiction
  • The Covid Cruise – Erica Procunier


Best Lead Actress, Comedy
  • Kim’s Convenience – Jean Yoon

A black and white image of a man

Lovell Adams-Gray in 21 Black Futures


Best Direction, Web Program or Series
  • 21 Black Futures, “The Death News” – Charles Officer
Best Lead Performance, Web Program or Series
  • 21 Black Futures – Lovell Adams-Gray
Best Immersive Experience – Fiction
  • The Passengers – Ziad Touma

See the full list of winners here.

Share this post: