More Than 60 CFC Alumni Nominated for 2019 Canadian Screen Awards

Posted: Feb 14, 2019

Last week, the Canadian Academy of Cinema & Television announced the nominees for the 
2019 Canadian Screen Awards (CSAs). We are so proud to share that over 60 CFC alumni have received nominations for their extraordinary work on films like Anthropocene, series like Schitt’s Creek, and immersive media experiences like Made This Way: Redefining Masculinity (a CFC Media Lab co-production). Please see the full list of alumni nominees below. 

The 2019 Canadian Screen Awards will be handed out at various ceremonies throughout Canadian Screen Week, which kicks off with the Nominee Brunch on Monday, March 25, 2019 in Toronto. Canadian Screen Week will culminate with the live Broadcast Gala, airing nationwide Sunday, March 31 at 8 p.m. ET (9 p.m. AT, 9:30 p.m. NT) on CBC.


A Black man holds a Black woman's face while looking at her passionately

Brown Girl Begins, co-starring alumnus Emmanuel Kabongo. 

Achievement In Editing

  • Simone Smith – Firecrackers

Adapted Screenplay

  • Sharon Lewis – Brown Girl Begins

Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary

  • Anthropocene: The Human Epoch – Nicholas de Pencier
  • What Walaa Wants – Matt Code, Anita Lee

Best Cinematography in a Feature Length Documentary

  • Anthropocene: The Human Epoch – Nicholas de Pencier

Best Editing in a Feature Length Documentary

  • Take Light – Rich Williamson

Best Live Action Short Drama

  • Fauve – Evren Boisjoli


A group of women sit on beanbag chairs in a circle

A scene from CBC’s Workin’ Moms

Best Drama Series

  • Anne with an E – Miranda de Pencier
  • Bad Blood – Mark Monteflore, Paula J.Smith
  • Blood and Water – Paula J. Smith
  • Frankie Drake Mysteries – Christina Jennings, Cal Coons, Michelle Ricci

Best Comedy Series

  • Letterkenny – Mark Montefiore
  • Schitt’s Creek – Andrew Barnsley

Best Animated Program or Series

  • Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs – Kirsten Newlands, Steven Denure (Canadian Film Centre Board Member)
  • Corner Gas Animated – Jonas Diamond (Canadian Film Centre Board Member)
  • Hotel Transylvania – Scott Dyer (Canadian Film Centre Board Member)

Best Biography or Arts Documentary Program or Series

  • Interrupt This Program – Al Magee

Best Children’s or Youth Fiction Program or Series

  • The Next Step – Emma Campbell, Brian Hartigan, Karen McClellan

Best Documentary Program

  • After the Sirens – Kevin Eastwood

Best History Documentary Program or Series

  • 100 Days to Victory – Marlo Miazga

Best Limited Series or Program

  • Cardinal: Blackfly Season – Jennifer Kawaja

Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program

  • The Heat: A Kitchen (R)evolution – Maya Gallus

Best Lead Actor, Comedy

  • Schitt’s Creek – Eugene Levy (Canadian Film Centre Board Member)

Best Lead Actress, Comedy

  • Schitt’s Creek – Annie Murphy

Best Direction, Comedy

  • Mohawk Girls – “White but A’right” – Tracey Deer

Best Direction, Drama Program or Limited Series

  • Murdoch Mysteries: Home for the Holidays – Gary Harvey

Best Direction, Drama Series

  • Frankie Drake Mysteries – Peter Stebbings

Best Direction, Variety or Sketch Comedy

  • Baroness von Sketch Show – “Is that you Karen?” – Jordan Canning, Jeremy LaLonde

Best Direction, Web Program or Series

  • PYOTR495 – Blake Mawson

Best Original Music, Fiction

  • Cardinal: Blackfly Season – Todor Kobakov
  • Ransom – “Radio Silence” – Todor Kobakov

Best Picture Editing, Comedy

  • Baroness von Sketch Show – Jeremy LaLonde
  • Workin’ Moms – Jonathan Eagan

Best Picture Editing, Documentary

  • Equus: Story of the Horse – “Chasing the Wind”Brenda Terning

Best Picture Editing, Drama

  • Vikings – “The Joke”Tad Seaborn

Best Picture Editing, Reality/Competition

  • Big Brother Canada – “Finale”Baun Mah, Seth Poulin, Chris Donaldson, Jordan Crute
  • The Amazing Race Canada – “Just a Beaver Hero”Gloria Tong

Best Sound, Fiction

  • Cardinal: Blackfly Season – David McCallum
  • Vikings – “Moment of Vision”David McCallum

Best Writing, Children’s or Youth

  • The Next Step – “Twinkle Toes” – Karen McClellan

Best Writing, Comedy

  • Mohawk Girls – “White but A’right” – Cynthia Knight

Best Writing, Drama Program or Limited Series

  • Cardinal: Blackfly Season – “Toof” – Sarah Dodd

Best Writing, Drama Series

  • Mary Kills People – “The Means” – Tara Armstrong
  • Mary Kills People – “Come to Jesus – Tassie Cameron, Marsha Greene

Best Writing, Factual

  • Queen of the Oil Patch – “This is Where I’m From” – Laurie-Ann Smith

Best Writing, Lifestyle or Reality/Competition

  • The Amazing Race Canada – “Just a Beaver Hero” – Mark Peacock

Best Writing, Animation

  • Mysticons – “The Princess and the Pirate” – Sean Jara
  • Wishfart – “Litterfools Ain’t Cool” – John Hazlett

Best Writing, Web Program or Series

  • How to Buy a Baby – “Fertiliflnch” – Wendy Litner


Woman looks through VR headset while standing in front of various photographs of a man

A woman tries out Made This Way: Redefining Masculinity 

Best Cross-Platform Project

  • Taken Knowledge Keeper – Kyle Irving

Best Cross-Platform Project – Children’s and Youth

  • Finding Stuff Out Online – Jonas Diamond (Canadian Film Centre Board Member)

Best Web Program or Series, Fiction

  • How to Buy a Baby – Lauren Corber

Best Web Program or Series, Non-Fiction

  • The Artists: The Pioneers Behind the Pixels – Christina Piovesan
  • The Move – Romeo Candido

Best Original Interactive Production

  • Nuclear Dissent – Heather Phenix

Best Immersive Experience – Non-Fiction

  • Made This Way: Redefining Masculinity – Elli Raynai, Irem Harnak, Ana Serrano (Canadian Film Centre Media Lab)

Best Virtual Reality Game

  • Flow Weaver – Evan Jones

If you are a CFC alumnus/alumna with a CSA nomination to add to this list, please email the CFC at:

Share this post: