CFC Alumni Win 2019 CSAs

Posted: Apr 1, 2019

The Canadian Academy of Cinema & Television have announced all of
the winners for the 2019 Canadian Screen Awards (CSAs). The CSAs were handed out at various ceremonies throughout Canadian Screen Week, which kicked off with the Nominee Brunch on Monday, March 25, 2019 in Toronto, and culminated with the live Broadcast Gala, which aired nationwide last night, Sunday, March 31, on CBC. A special congrats to alumna Diana Frances, who was one of the four all female-team who wrote last night’s Broadcast Gala.

We are so proud that 13 of our CFC alumni won awards for 11 distinct projects this past week, a testament to the vitality of our alumni working across film, television and digital in multiple genres. Congratulations to all of our CFC alumni winners and nominees!


Achievement In Editing

Firecrackers – Simone Smith

Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary

Anthropocene: The Human Epoch – Nicholas de Pencier

Best Cinematography in a Feature Length Documentary

Anthropocene: The Human Epoch – Nicholas de Pencier

Best Live Action Short Drama

Fauve – Evren Boisjoli


Four women wit in an alley, wearing fancy winter clothes.

Courtesy of CBC.

Best Drama Series

Anne with an E – Miranda de Pencier

Best Comedy Series

Schitt’s Creek – Andrew Barnsley

Best Limited Series or Program

Cardinal: Blackfly Season – Jennifer Kawaja

Best Direction, Variety or Sketch Comedy

Baroness von Sketch Show, “Is that you Karen?” – Jordan Canning, Jeremy LaLonde

Best Original Music, Fiction

Cardinal: Blackfly Season – Todor Kobakov

Best Picture Editing, Comedy

Baroness von Sketch Show – Jeremy LaLonde

Best Picture Editing, Reality/Competition

The Amazing Race Canada, “Just a Beaver Hero” – Gloria Tong


Best Web Program or Series, Fiction

How to Buy a Baby – Lauren Corber

Best Web Program or Series, Non-Fiction

The Artists: The Pioneers Behind the Pixels – Christina Piovesan

Best Original Interactive Production

Nuclear Dissent – Heather Phenix

Share this post: