CFC Alumni Take Home CCE, LEO, Inside Out Film Festival Awards

Posted: Jun 3, 2019

We’re proud and pleased to share the good news that several CFC alumni won awards last week at three sets of recent ceremonies: the ninth annual Canadian Cinema Editors (CCE) Awards at their gala on Thursday, May 31; the 2019 Leo Awards, which honour excellence in British Columbia’s film and television, at three ceremonies on Saturday, May 25 and Sunday May 26, as well as Saturday, June 1; and the juried awards at the end of the Inside Out LGBT Film Festival in Toronto, which honours Canadian and international lesbian, gay, queer and transgender films.

See the winners below!

Five children stand looking skeptically off to the left, with three of them wearing blue suits.

Courtney Goldman won for her editing on the MOW, ‘Odd Squad: World Turned Odd’ (courtesy of PBS).

The Ninth Annual Canadian Cinema Editors Awards

The CCE Awards honour superior editing in film, television and web series, and included these alumni among the night’s winners:

Best Editing in Documentary: Short Form
Greg Ng
Finding Big Country

Best Editing in Family: MOW, Live Action
Courtney Goldman
Odd Squad: World Turned Odd

Best Editing in TV Comedy
Dev Singh
Little Dog: Ep. 107

Two men stand on either side of a woman in the centre posing for the awards.

Editor Greg Ng (second from right) won both a Leo and CCE award for editing the short documentary, ‘Finding Big Country.’ (Credit: Leo Awards on Instagram).

The 2019 Leo Awards

The Leo Awards celebrate excellence in British Columbia film and television, and included these alumni winners:

Best Documentary Series
Paramedics: Life on the Line
Erin Haskett (along with non-alumni Louise Clark, Murray Battle, Rudy Buttignol, David Moses, Andrew Easterbrook, Megan Cameron, Ashley Olpherts)

Best Picture Editing: Short Documentary
Greg Ng
Finding Big Country

Best Screenwriting: Music, Comedy or Variety Program or Series
Sonja Bennett

Best Sound: Animation Program or Series
Biidaaban (The Dawn Comes)
Joseph Murray and Lodewijk Vos of Menalon (along with non-alumni Jeneen Frei Njootli, Cris Derksen, Leanne Betasamosake Simpson, Ziibiwan Rivers)

The 2019 Inside Out Film Festival Awards

The Inside Out Film Festival, which ran from Thursday, May 24 through Sunday, June 2 in downtown Toronto, closed with its Annual Awards Brunch, at which two alumni projects received these prestigious juried awards:

Best Canadian Feature
Drag Kids
Director, Megan Wennberg

Two children help each other prepare for a performance by applying makeup.

Courtesy of Awards Watch.

Best Canadian Short

Soft Spot

Several alumni worked on this film, including Erin Carter (lead actor and writing), Ali Mashayekhi (producer) and Aimee Bessada, Spencer Creaghan, Rebecca Everett, Neil Haverty and Chris Reineck (Music).

Share this post: