CFC Alumnae and Board Members Nominated to the Order of Canada

Posted: Jan 7, 2019

The CFC is proud to share the good news that on December 27, 2018, one of our alumni, Shirley Cheechoo, and two of our board members, Blake Goldring and Christina Jennings (also an alumna), received the Order of Canada, while a third board member, Daniel Lamarre, already a Member, was promoted to the status of Officer of the Order of Canada.

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, announced these as part of 103 new appointments to the Order of Canada. The full new member list includes two Companions (C.C.), 15 Officers (O.C.) and 86 Members (C.M.), including two Honorary Members. Recipients will be invited to accept their insignia at a ceremony to be held at a later date.

  • Shirley Cheechoo (C.M.) of M’Chigeeng First Nation, Ontario, was appointed “for her multi-dimensional contributions to Canadian film and her support for emerging Indigenous artists.
  • Blake Charles Goldring (C.M., M.S.M., C.D.) of Toronto, Ontario, was appointed “for his contributions to business and philanthropy, notably for the well-being of veterans and their families.
  • Christina Jennings (C.M.) of Toronto, Ontario, was appointed “for her commitment to the Canadian film industry and for her promotion of women in this field.
  • Daniel Lamarre (O.C.) of Montréal, Quebec, was promoted from within the Order “for his contributions to the communications and entertainment industry, and for his ongoing philanthropic engagement.”

Created in 1967, the Order of Canada is one of our country’s highest honours. Presented by the governor general, the Order honours people whose service shapes our society; whose innovations ignite our imaginations; and whose compassion unites our communities. Cheechoo, Goldring, Jennings and Lamarre join close to 7,000 people from all sectors of society who have been invested into the Order of Canada. Appointments are made by the governor general on the recommendation of the Advisory Council for the Order of Canada.

Read more here for information on this year’s appointments and a full list of recipients.

Share this post: