CFC Alumni Receive 31 2018 Leo Awards Nominations

By Cory Angeletti-Szasz ● May 01, 2018 16:00

The nominees for the 2018 Leo Awards have been announced, celebrating onscreen and behind-the-camera excellence in British Columbia’s film and television industry. We are pleased to share that several CFC alumni/residents and alumni projects have been nominated, including an incredible 10 nominations overall for CFC Features and Motion 58 comedy ADVENTURES IN PUBLIC SCHOOL. See below for the list of alumni nominees:

A mother and son dance at a home school prom

'Adventures in Public School'

Best Motion Picture

  • ADVENTURES IN PUBLIC SCHOOL (produced by Josh Epstein)
  • Dead Shack (produced by resident Amber Ripley)
  • Meditation Park (produced by Mina Shum, Raymond Massey and Stephen Hegyes)
  • Never Steady, Never Still (executive produced by Lori Lozinski)
  • Kayak to Klemtu (produced by Daniel Bekerman)
  • Indian Horse (produced by Trish Dolman, Paula Devonshire, Tex Antonucci)

Best Direction, Motion Picture

  • Mina Shum – Meditation Park
  • Kathleen Hepburn – Never Steady, Never Still

Best Screenwriting, Motion Picture

  • Josh Epstein, Kyle Rideout – ADVENTURES IN PUBLIC SCHOOL
  • Arran Shearing – Forgotten Man
  • Michael Sparaga (co-writer) – Kayak To Klemtu

Best Picture Editing, Motion Picture

  • Gareth Scales – Entanglement
  • Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux – The Cannon

Best Production Design, Motion Picture

  • Liz Cairns – Never Steady, Never Still

Best Casting, Motion Picture

  • Sage Brocklebank – The Cannon

Best Television Movie

  • Story of a Girl – Liz Levine, Adrian Salpeter (producers)

Best Short Drama

  • RuptureYassmina Karaja (producer)
  • Mental – Liz Levine (producer)

Best Direction, Short Drama

  • Yassmina Karajah – Rupture

Best Screenwriting, Short Drama

  • Yassmina Karajah – Rupture

Best Picture Editing, Short Drama

  • Yassmina Karaja (co-editor) – Rupture

Best Dramatic Series

  • Cardinal: Blackfly (Jennifer Kawaja, Sarah Dodd – producers)

Best Screenwriting, Dramatic Series

  • Sarah Dodd – Cardinal: Blackfly, “Red”

Best Feature Length Documentary

  • The Road Forward (produced by Shirley Vercruysse)

Best Short Documentary

  • Holy Angels (produced by Shirley Vercruysse)

Best Direction Documentary Series

  • 1491: The Untold Story of the Americas Before Columbus - Origins – Lisa Jackson

Best Music, Comedy, or Variety Program or Series

  • Letterkenny – Mark Montefiore (producer)

Best Performance, Music, Comedy, or Variety Program or Series

  • Sonja Bennett – Android Employed, “The Family Unit”

Best Performance, By a Male – Web

  • Sage Brocklebank – Inconceivable, “The Elephant in the Womb”

Best Animation Program or Series

  • The Mountain of SGaana (produced by Shirley Vercruysse)

CLICK HERE to see the full list of nominees.

Cory Angeletti-Szasz

Manager, Communications