Production Begins on ‘Travelers,’ Series Developed at CFC in Prime Time TV Program

By Cory Angeletti-Szasz ● April 19, 2016 12:15

Showcase announced today the start of production on the new Canadian original sci-fi series, Travelers. The drama was originally developed at the CFC in our 2014/15 Prime Time TV Program when Brad Wright (Stargate SG-1, Stargate Atlantis, Stargate Universe) was the Executive-Producer-in-Residence, along with with the nine residents of that year’s program (Tara Armstrong, Mika Collins, Seth Cooperman, Rebecca Hales, Gillian Muller, Ashley Park, Pat Smith, Amanda Smith-Kolic, and Jason Whiting).

Eric McCormack on 'Travelers'. Photo courtesy of Showcase.

Wright wrote and created the drama, which is a co-production between Netflix and Canada's Peacock Alley and Showcase, and will also showrun the series. Nick Hurran (Sherlock) will direct the pilot, with Canadians Andy Mikita (Lost Girl), Helen Shaver (Vikings), Martin Wood (Killjoys), Will Waring (Continuum) and Amanda Tapping (Continuum) set to direct future episodes. The series is shooting on location in Vancouver, and stars Eric McCormack (Will & Grace) as FBI special agent Grant MacLaren. The series will air on Showcase in Canada and will stream on Netflix outside of Canada.

“We're thrilled to be working with Showcase and Netflix and are so proud that Travelers was originally developed at the CFC Prime Time TV Program with Canadian writers,” said Brad Wright in a press release. “We're excited to work with this amazing cast led by Eric McCormack. It's all a dream come true for a Scarborough boy like me.”

Travelers takes place hundreds of years in the future and focuses on the last surviving humans who discover the means of sending consciousness back through time, directly into people in the 21st century. These "travelers" assume the lives of seemingly random people, while secretly working as teams to perform missions in order to save humanity from a terrible future.

CLICK HERE to read the original announcement.

We are currently accepting applications for the 2016/17 Prime Time TV Program; the deadline to apply is May 13, 2016. CLICK HERE for additional details and application information.

Cory Angeletti-Szasz

Manager, Communications (Mat Leave)