Finalists Announced for 19th Annual WGC Screenwriting Awards

By Cory Angeletti-Szasz ● February 24, 2015 12:30

The Writers Guild of Canada (WGC) announced yesterday the finalists for the 19th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards, which celebrate the excellence of Canada’s screenwriters.

More than 150 scripts were nominated for awards in seven categories, with 29 scripts chosen as finalists. In total, 53 screenwriters are up for this year’s awards.

CFC is pleased to announce that seven alumni are among the finalists:


The Cholesterol Question
Written by Michael McNamara


Darknet “Episode 5”
Written by Randall Cole

Ruby Skye P.I.: The Maltese Puppy “Everyone’s a Suspect”
Written by Jill Golick


This Hour Has 22 Minutes, Season XXI “Episode 16”
Written by Bob Kerr

Mr. D, Season 3 “Old School”
Written by Andrew De Angelis


Orphan Black, Season 2 “Ipsa Scientia Potestas Est”
Written by Tony Elliott

Strange Empire, Season 1 “The Oath”
Written by Jackie May

The winners will be announced at a gala event on Monday, April 27, 2015 at Koerner Hall in Toronto.

Read the official announcement here.

Cory Angeletti-Szasz

Manager, Communications