TIFF Director and CEO Piers Handling Wins Technicolor Clyde Gilmour Award Presented by the TFCA

By Cory Angeletti-Szasz ● November 27, 2014 18:45

The Toronto Film Critics Association (TFCA) announced today that Piers Handling, Board Member, Ex-Officio, of CFC’s Board of Directors, will be presented with the Technicolor Clyde Gilmour Award. The award recognizes a Canadian whose work has in some way enriched the understanding and appreciation of film in their native country.

CFC’s founder, Norman Jewison, was presented with this honour last year. Other past winners of the Technicolor Clyde Gilmour Award include Elwy Yost, James Quandt, Robin Wood, Kay Armatage, John Dunning and Allan King.

Under the terms of the award, Technicolor has donated $50,000 in post-production services to a filmmaker of Handling’s choosing. The recipient of this bursary will be announced at the TFCA’s annual gala, which will be held at The Carlu in Toronto on Tuesday, January 6, 2015.

Piers Handling has been Director and Chief Executive Officer of TIFF since 1994, leading both the operational and artistic growth of the organization. Under Handling’s direction, the organization has grown to become an internationally renowned cultural institution. A passionate supporter of Canadian film, Handling has published extensively, curated numerous film retrospectives, and presented programs of Canadian cinema at film institutions around the world.

CFC extends warm congratulations to Piers for this well-deserved honour!

Cory Angeletti-Szasz

Manager, Communications (Mat Leave)